Standards Aligned System

Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year

About Teacher of the Year

The National Teacher of the Year program began in 1952 and continues as the oldest, most prestigious national honors program that focuses public attention on excellence in teaching.

The Pennsylvania Chapter of National Teacher of the Year (NSTOY-PA) program began in 1995. NSTOY-PA works with PDE to support the program by providing services and materials to select and honor the Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year.

To nominate a teacher for Teacher of the Year, please complete and submit a Nomination Form to the Nominations Chair of NSTOY-PA (address enclosed on form). The nominee will be sent an application to complete and submit. All nomination forms received after December 15th of each year will be rolled into the following year’s applications.

The Pennsylvania Department of Education is a non-voting member of the NSTOY-PA, and along with the Executive Committee, provides direction for the program selection process, funding and guidance for the annual teachers’ forum, and technical assistance to the Pennsylvania Teacher of the Year once selected. To read more, please see: History.

Pennsylvania Map showcasing previous winners of Teacher of the Year

Pennsylvania is proud of the past recipients of its Teacher of the Year:

  • 2014 Anthony Grisillo - Rose Tree Media School District
  • 2013 Ryan Devlin - Brockway Area High School
  • 2012 Tricia Miller - Penns Valley School District
  • 2011 Jeffrey Chou - Abington School District
  • 2010 Michelle Switala - Pine Richland High School
  • 2009 Rebecca Snyder - Greater Latrobe Senior High School
  • 2008 David Woten - Carson Middle School
  • 2007 Lois Rebich - Ross Elementary School
  • 2006 Barbara Benglian - Upper Darby SD
  • 2005 Nikki Salvatico - Great Valley SD
  • 2004 Leslie Nicholas - Wyoming Valley West SD
  • 2003 Joyce Dunn - Shanksville-Stonycreek SD
  • 2002 Ralph Maltese - Abington Senior HS
  • 2001 Nicholas J. Uliano - Phoenixville Area HS
  • 2000 Faith G. Kline - Philadelphia SD
  • 1999 Barbara Brathwaite - Pocono Mountain Intermediate
  • 1998 Susan Van Zile - Cumberland Valley SD
  • 1997 Robert Werner - Derry Area SD
  • 1996 Susan Rodriguez - Philadelphia SD
  • 1995 Ranjini Weerasooriya & Deborah Spencer - Philadelphia SD
  • 1994 Yvonne Savior & Jean Ditillo - Philadelphia SD
  • 1993 Violet Geib & Gloria Goode - Manheim Central SD
  • 1992 Rudolph Sharpe, Jr. - Lower Dauphin SD
  • 1991 Karen Kreider & Albertine Washington - Philadelphia SD & Lebanon SD
  • 1990 Howard Selekman - Dorseyville Jr.HS

Additional previous recipients coming soon!

Standards Aligned System
Data is Loading...